Make your own Washing Detergent!


My friend shared this recipe on her blog Through Hazel Eyes and I think she is a genius.  She also has handy tips for repurposing an oxyclean container to store small amounts of your new detergent.  All you need is 4 ingredients, a garbage bag, and some large container such as a garbage pail or 5 gallon bucket.  I cant wait to make this.  My husband thinks Im absolutely nuts but I am all about saving on expensive detergents especially if I can make my own for less than $17 a year.  Check it out by clicking the link above.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. princesspipersmama
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 22:59:31

    Ive been using this ever since my post and I still have one full tub of oxy clean container left plus at least 2 cups in my large Tidy Cats bin I used to store the extras in. I plan to divy up the last 2 cups for last minute xmas gift ideas. That way my family can try it before they make it.

    Im pretty satisfied with the mixture. My husband doesnt care for the scent but I believe you could add some essential oils and it would fix the issue. I do not use it for my cloth diapers because I mixed in the oxyclean. I wish I would have kept that seperate so I could use the rest on my cloth diapers. Anyone else try this?

    Reply

    • kara
      Jan 10, 2013 @ 00:09:27

      i like the felsnaptha smell also, but I’ve heard mixed reviews for using regular bars soap because it may cause build up with the extra suds that naptha does not. Even though it would up the price of a batch, I also saw someone add scent crystals-I think downy makes them-they are little scented balls instead of liquid fabric softener I think.

      Reply

  2. kara
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 23:28:33

    I found a recipe on pinterest with the same ingredients but a little more concentrated (less water) to make it easier to store. I don’t care for the powder version of this recipe less to store would be nice…will try with my next batch.

    Reply

  3. princesspipersmama
    Oct 20, 2013 @ 09:07:10

    I just now need to make a new batch after about a year and half. I found another recipe recently that uses 3 bars of lavender Dr. Bronners Castile soap and you first grate it then put it into a food processor to grind it down to powder. Otherwise the recipe is very similar minus the fels naptha.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

