More Valentines Day fun


All dressed up for Valentines Day and giving me "The Look"

 It’s Valentines Day! 

I thought I would share a brief synopses of our special mommy/daughter Valentines Day!  Over the weekend Ava and I made Peanut Butter Balls, affectionately known as Buckeyes.  I found the recipe in Parents Magazine and had to make them.  I never made them before and was really excited to try the recipe.  I had high hopes of having Ava help me but she didn’t do much other than watch.  Below you will see a few photos of the Buckeyes but mine are not nearly as pretty as the ones shown in the magazine.  I also tried to use White Chocolate Chips for the outer shell and they just don’t melt as well as the chocolate chips.  I guess I’ll have to find out how to do that for next time because it sounded so yummy.  Here is the recipe: 1 C Creamy peanut butter, 1.5 C powdered sugar, 5 Tbs of unsalted butter, and 1/2 tsp of vanilla.  Mix in order in a large bowl.  Knead mixture until smooth, adding up to a 1/2 C more powdered sugar as needed to prevent sticking.  Roll dough into 1 inch balls and set on wax paper-lined cookie sheet.  Make about 40.  Line another large cookie sheet with wax paper and set aside.  Place assorted sprinkles  in shallow bowls.  Microwave 1.5 C chocolate chips at 15 minute intervals until smooth.  Drop the balls into the melted chocolate to coat.  Remove balls with a fork and allow chocolate to drip off the balls.  Roll balls in sprinkles to coat.  Place on the lined cookie sheets.  Chill to set. 

I did not have much luck with the candies so I just sprinkled the tops with red sugar and white decorating candy balls.  I found out later too that I don’t really like the added candy to the buckeyes so I would suggest leaving some without. 

You’ll see that mine are not very pretty but they were very tasty!

So, on Valentines Day, I took Miss Ava to a Lap Sit reading time at the local library and met some parents that I did not know…strange in a small town.  We then went to the store to find gifts for daddy because I find it difficult to keep secrets and good hiding places from my husband and because of lack of opportunity to get to a store without being rushed and without a toddler.  So, we ended up getting him various packages of beef jerky, heart-shaped peanut butter cups (like we didn’t have enough peanut butter treats), a whatchamacallit bar, hmm, seems like there was something else. 

We don’t normally celebrate the tagged “hallmark holiday” so this was kind of new experience for me.  I think we were excited to share the day with our daughter and got carried away.  We got Ava some crayons, coloring book, playdough with all kinds of gadgets, and of course some candy that she doesn’t need.  Oh, heart-shaped beaded necklaces, can’t forget those.  My husband got me roses and chocolates, and candies, a financial peace starter kit, and some other random items.  Very unexpected!  

I digress.  Ava and I spent a little bit of time with my dad at the grocery store he manages and then home for a nap.  After the nap we went to visit my grandmother at the nursing home and dazzled the residents with Ava’s cuteness.  A lot of people don’t like to visit the Alzheimer’s units in nursing homes because it’s so sad, and I agree, but I don’t really mind.  It’s actually kind of fun with a toddler because everyone loves to see babies and its like the first time they’ve ever seen a baby…priceless.  My cousin, who works at the nursing home, gave Ava  a heart-shaped balloon and she was totally excited!  We went home to have a family dinner and a nice evening.

Nothing really special to write about but it was kind of different way to spend Valentines Day.  Everyone thinks about going out to dinner or movies or spending a lot of money on lavish gifts for a day like today…oh, yeah, and don’t forget the flowers.  But I think the best way to spend a day like Valentines day is spending time with family and doing fun activities to create lasting memories.  Dont get me wrong, I love flowers once in a while, and I love going out to dinner but I think those things are nicer and more appreciated on days that don’t have a requirement attached or expectations attached.  With that said: I hope everyone had a fantastic Valentines Day however you spent it.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. etkileyici erkek olmak
    May 04, 2013 @ 04:17:21

    Congratulations on possessing one of probably the most sophisticated blogs Ive encounter in some time! Its just outstanding simply how much you’ll be able to take away from anything simply simply because of how visually lovely it is. Youve place collectively a fantastic website space -great graphics, videos, layout. This is unquestionably a must-see weblog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

