Having a Mommy Moment


Today at playgroup, a friend says to me “I remember when my kids were that age and I didn’t get nervous about what they are doing and now with other people’s kids I get so nervous” in response to my toddler standing on a child size chair and attempting to climb onto the table and turning it into a game when I pick her up off the table and put her back on the floor.  I continued to tell her to “sit her tushy on the chair” while she repeatedly performed the same tiring actions. 

I take no offense to my friend’s comment but I was thinking that I used to be so freaked out when my clients or friend’s children would climb onto furniture or behave in ways that might be dangerous.  In my case I told my friend that I was confident in my daughter’s abilities and I kind of know what she is going to do but reassured her that I knew what she meant and felt the same way and wondered if other parents were neglecting their kids actions or simply didn’t know it might be dangerous.  I was thinking about this further though and started wondering if maybe part of this ambivalence toward my daughter’s adventurous spirit might also be the result of fatigue. 

I tend to feel so overwhelmingly tired throughout the day just watching my daughter and the energy that she has.  Don’t get me wrong, I consider myself a very involved and active parent but sometimes it is easy to just sit and watch the energy displayed by toddlers.  It wears you out.  I’m not even that old, 29, and I feel exhausted by 3 in the afternoon.  I told my husband that I am more tired by the end of the day spending the day with my daughter than I would be if I worked an 8 hour day.  It is just a completely different kind of “tired”. 

So, my question about my ambivalence toward my daughters adventurous spirit…is it confidence in your child, laziness and just plain fatigue, is it a relaxed attitude about allowing children to learn consequences (in a controlled and safe environment), or something else? I personally think it varies from person to person and how well you know your child but also how well-informed you are about child development and how in-touch you are with your child’s abilities.  However, I still think I would be nervous about another child performing the same behaviors that my daughter was displaying had I been an onlooker…  It’s all about perception I suppose…What are your thoughts?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maria Hausler
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 19:28:20

    I am also writing to make you be aware of of the outstanding discovery my wife’s princess developed checking your web site. She learned so many issues, most notably how it is like to possess a very effective helping mood to make the mediocre ones completely completely grasp various advanced matters. You undoubtedly did more than our own expectations. Many thanks for presenting these helpful, healthy, educational and as well as cool tips about that topic to Sandra.

    Reply

  2. Mariam
    Oct 26, 2012 @ 11:01:43

    I blog quite often and I really appreciate your information.
    This article has really peaked my interest.

    I’m going to bookmark your site and keep checking for new details about once per week. I subscribed to your RSS feed too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

