Valentine’s Day fun with Kiddos


Over the weekend I unintentionally kicked off the Valentines Day projects with my daughter, Ava (18 months).  I love introducing her to new and fun projects.  Sometimes I get questions about why I do these projects with Ava even though she is so young and I end up doing most of the project.  My answer is simply that I know she enjoys herself and she is learning regardless of whether she will remember. 

Our first project was to make homemade playdough.  We got this recipe from playgroup and it was altered from the original source but turned out perfectly. 

No-Cook Play Dough

2 1/2 C. Flour

1/2 C. Salt

3T. Corn Oil

1T Alum (a pickling agent)

2C boiling water

2 pkgs kool aid

Directions: Combine in a bowl in order given and stir. 
Add more flour as needed.  Store in a covered container.  You can store in the refrigerator. 

Very young children will enjoy punching, pulling, patting, pinching, rolling, shaping, and ripping the dough.  Add cookie cutters, forks, orange peel cutters, popscicle sticks and other poking devices for more advanced learners.  Manipulating the dough helps young children learn important developmental skills including object permanency, hand eye-coordination, and creativity.

Our Second project was Jello Jigglers! The recipe is on the box…well most boxes.  Basically use 4  (3 oz) packages of Jello, boil 2 1/2 C of water and stir into gelatin until dissolved.  Refrigerate for 3 hours.  I used a 10×13 pan and used heart cookie cutters to make different heart shapes.  She loved the jello,  not so sure she cared what shapes they were.

And our Third Yummy Valentines Day Treat was the Fruit Pizza.  I made it more holiday like by cutting the strawberries into hearts and the only one I salvaged was placed in the center.  I also added a twist to the filling which is very easy but most people dont think about doing this…all I did was smash some strawberries and blended them into the filling before topping the sugar cookie.

Basic recipe: Store bought Sugar Cookie dough (single roll – I made the mistake of not paying attention that the tubs are much larger and overflowed my pizza stone and had a huge mess) and roll out onto a pan for one giant cookie.  Bake approx. 14 minutes or until golden.  Filling: One pkg cream cheese, one tub of cool whip, and add strawberries or other fruit for color and flavor.  I also added about a 1/4 cup of powdered sugar to take the edge of the cream cheese flavor.  Top with sliced fruit of your choice! Ta da!

licking the spatula! Yum!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tricia @Nightowlmama
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 05:12:29

    how fun. Looks like she had a great time.
    I was going to follow you on google friend connect but I can’t find your button thingy. ;(

    Reply

  2. BttB 2010 Reviews
    Feb 19, 2011 @ 12:23:33

    Hi there, I found this blog once, then lost it. Took me forever to arrive back and find it. I wanted to view what comments you got. Very good blog by the way.

    Reply

  3. Rosaline Ringer
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 07:45:14

    Excellent blog post, I look forward to reading much more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

