CASTING CALL: Birth Stories Wanted


Casting Call!  Birth Stories Wanted

I have a new project in mind.  I am hoping this project will one day turn into a book to be published…eventually.  In addition to the resource group my sister-in-law and I initiated for new moms (families) in Northern Michigan, I was hoping to incorporate a sharing of birth stories.  I hope that someday soon I will be able to hold meetings and explain the information packets we will create and possibly have guest speakers.  I was thinking that some of the guest speakers should be moms to share their birth stories.  This got me thinking after some encouragement from an informational interviewee to write a book.  I was totally intimidated by this but after thinking about it for a while, I feel like some kind of birth story collaboration would be an awesome resource for new parents.  I think hearing other women’s birth stories help us to prepare for our own experiences. 

My birth story is definitely what I imagined prior to the event but it is what it is and I am learning to accept what has happened.  I plan to post my own birth story soon to get things rolling.  I would love to have women who are passionate about this topic share their birth story if they feel comfortable making it public.  I completely understand those of you who would like to keep your birth story private because it is a very private, intimate event within the family. However, I do realize that many women are eager to share their stories.  So here is what I am looking for:

Criteria:

-Any mom wanting to share a birth event within the last 10 years (2000 cut off year)

-Share your story prenatally, your birth, or post-partum (or a combination)

-Please refrain from using Hospital names/Doctor’s Names etc. Any identifying information. I do not want to slander or advertise specific people or locations.

-If you use names please change them.  If you refer to the location please use a generic name like “doctor” or “hospital”. 

-Please spell check or give me permission to edit.  I will only edit spelling and grammar if I get this permission. If it is not grammatically correct, I will not post it.

-If you feel passionately about your birthing experience and it was longer than 10 years ago, I will consider publishing it.

-I would like to incorporate what you liked, what you didn’t like, what you would change if you could.

-I would also like to share experiences of different cultural practices.

-I would like to share experiences in the hospital, home births, natural births, cesareans, water births, birthing centers, etc. 

-A picture of your little one or your family can also be incorporated if you would like to attach a photo as well.

—If and when I decide to publish this information, I will need contact information including your name, address, phone number, contract/permission form signed, and possibly other information.  I have not written the contract at this time…coming soon.

At this time, please send an email of interest to princesspipersmama@gmail.com; I will return your email and fill you in on more details and send you a contract/permission form to complete before publishing. 

 

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. urbankaleidoscope
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 12:06:54

    What a great idea! I am currently writing my own story. My experience was very much influenced by CalmBirthing.

    Reply

  2. Blogging to the BAnk 3.0 Scam
    Feb 20, 2011 @ 03:37:27

    Finally a smart blogger…I adore how you’re considering and writing!

    Reply

  3. Roxanne Pallafor
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 07:13:54

    I know this is truly boring and you are skipping to the next comment, but I just wanted to throw you a big thanks – you cleared up some things for me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

