The Perfect Yoga Workout


 I just finished this workout and I completely forgot how much I enjoyed it.  For awhile I had been doing the yoga and pilattes workouts on FitTv and while I enjoyed them I havent actually completed a yoga workout in a very long time.  I think it may have been last year around this time which, for me, is pathetic.  Maybe Im being too hard on myself because I tend to enjoy high intensity aerobics more than any other workout because I can feel the burn, the exhaustion, the sweat, while I engage in that form of exercise.  With yoga and and floor pilattes I tend to think of them as passive exercise because I don’t often sweat.  I think I need to change my thought patterns because I feel incredible after The Perfect Yoga Workout.  I selected the “fat burning YOGA” episode and I was definately sweating and my muscles were completely engaged.  I also feel calm and at peace with the world around me.  Let me explain that the world around me consists of laundry that needs to be folded,  a toddler play area in disarray, dishes that need to be done, and so on.  Dispite my household duties being neglected, I feel calm and peaceful in large thanks to this workout. 

I really like the instructor in this video as well.  Most of the instructors to other videos I find very obnoxious with thier fake soothing voices and tendencies.  Sarah Ivanhoe doesnt have the most perfect body, her voice is not annoying, she offers valid instruction, helpful hints and solutions to positioning.  She explains exactly what she is doing and when to breathe, and how to breathe.  This is definately a great choice for a newbie or someone who hasnt practiced in a little while…such as myself.

 Here is a descriptions below:

Instructor: Sarah Ivanhoe

Level: Intermediate

Certified instructor description:
Two complete yoga workouts led by a friendly, down-to-earth instructor. They both feature a medley of classic yoga poses (e.g. downward facing dog, plank, warrior, cobra, triangle and mountain pose) “Joy of Yoga” provides the improved flexibility and relaxation benefits of traditional yoga without the intimidating attitude. Sara’s unusually laid-back style makes it unusually easy to do (e.g. “if your knees are doing this, just flop them out” or “now just kinda wiggle your fingers”). Her emphasis is always on enjoying the movement, not perfecting each one. It has more energetic, upbeat music than most yoga videos. The second program, “Fat Burning Yoga,” also features classic yoga moves. Sara’s solid cuing and non-mystical style makes it an effective and exceptionally yoga workout. And by helping you achieve a balanced lifestyle and a deeper body-awareness, it provides a key element in weight-loss success (but it’s really too slow to immediately burn much fat…). It ends with a short, but intense, segment of traditional ab-focused floorwork. Bright, colorful, airy set. ©1997 & 2001. DVD has: Chapter menus, Music only option.   http://www.collagevideo.com/workout-video/crunch-the-perfect-yoga-workout-8993

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Resa
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 15:54:33

    kinda enjoyed the post that you published . it just isn’t that simple to discover good text toactually read (you know really READ and not just browsing through it like a zombie before going to yet another post to just ignore), so cheers man for really not wasting any of my time! :p

    Reply

  2. paris reseguide
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 14:40:35

    continue with the the nice work on the site. I appreciate it. Could maybe use some more updates more often, but i’m sure that you got some more or better things to do like we all do. =p

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

